Trustees and Officers of the RRT


Current Trustees and Officers | Former Trustees

Current Trustees and Officers

David Bird PhD FSA (2012)

David Bird discovered archaeology at university and supervised on excavations on a wide variety of Roman sites in England, Wales and Libya. His Manchester PhD was on Roman gold-mining in North-West Spain. He was Surrey County Archaeologist until 2006 but has always maintained an interest in the Roman period and has published articles on gold-mining, the Claudian invasion and the Roman period in Surrey and the SE, especially religious sites and the countryside around London. In ‘retirement’ he chairs Surrey Archaeological Society’s Research Committee and its very active Roman Studies Group. Current research interests arise from the results of Group excavations at Abinger and Ashtead, in particular limekilns, tileworks and the functioning of villas within the countryside.

Simon Esmonde Cleary (2013)

Simon Esmonde Cleary is Professor of Roman Archaeology at Birmingham University. He has directed excavations in both Britain and France and has research interests in the Western Roman provinces, especially during the period of Late Antiquity. He edited the leading journal on Roman Britain, Britannia, between 2004 and 2009. His most recent books are The Roman West A.D. 200-500: an archaeological study, published by Cambridge University Press, and Chedworth: life in a Roman villa, published by The History Press.

Professor Michael Fulford FBA, FSA (2009)

Michael Fulford is Professor of Archaeology at the University of Reading, where he was first appointed as a lecturer in Archaeology in 1974. His research interests are in Roman urbanisation, material culture, economy and trade, and technology. He has excavated widely in southern Britain as well as in Pompeii, Italy. He has worked extensively at the Iron Age and Roman town of Silchester, Hampshire and since 1997 has been directing a long-term project on insula IX. His most recent publications include Life and Labour in Late Roman Silchester (2006) and Iron Age and Romano-British settlements and landscape in Salisbury Plain (2006).

Dr James Gerrard ACIfA, FHEA (2016)

James Gerrard is a Senior Lecturer in Roman Archaeology at Newcastle University. His research interests include material culture, the Roman West Country, the end of Roman Britain and Late Antiquity. His publications include The Ruin of Roman Britain (Cambridge University Press 2013), articles in Britannia, The Archaeological Journal and other major periodicals as well as substantial excavation monographs. For some years he has been excavating the important Late Roman villa at Lufton in Somerset.

Richard Hobbs PhD FSA (2014)

Richard Hobbs is the Weston Curator of Roman Britain at the British Museum. He studied archaeology at the Institute of Archaeology, UCL, where he completed his doctorate under the tutelage of Richard Reece. He is a specialist in material culture with interest particularly in numismatics and metalwork, primarily in the Roman Republican and late Roman period. His numismatic works include a catalogue of the British Iron Age coins in the British museum and a study of the coins excavated by the Anglo-American Archaeological Project in Pompeii. His other works include a popular book on Roman Britain (with Ralph Jackson) and a study of precious metal deposits in the late Roman Empire. His most recent monograph is a major new study of the Mildenhall treasure (British Museum Research Publications 200, 2016).

Neil Holbrook BA FSA MIfA (Chairman 2017-)

Neil Holbrook is Chief Executive of Cotswold Archaeology, one of the largest archaeological fieldwork organisations working in the UK. He previously worked on Hadrian’s Wall and for Exeter Museum. He has a particular interest in the Roman period and has published widely on Romano-British archaeology, including a series of excavation reports dealing with aspects of Roman Cirencester. He is a Visiting Research Fellow in the Department of Archaeology at the University of Reading and a Vice President of the Bristol and Gloucestershire Archaeological Society. He is currently working on a project looking at the impact of developer-funded archaeology on our knowledge of Roman Britain.

Rob Hopwood MBA, FCMI (2016)

Rob is Director of Finance and Corporate Services at the British Academy, the UK's national academy for the humanities and social sciences. He studied modern languages at the Universities of Southampton and Geneva and has also worked in financial roles in Cambridge, at Jesus College and Trinity College. He took on the role of Treasurer for the RRT in 2016.

Louise Revell PhD (2013)

Louise Revell is Associate Professor in Archaeology at Southampton University. Her research focuses on Roman imperialism and identity, with a particular focus on the archaeology of buildings. She currently holds a Getty Fellowship as part of the Arts of Rome’s Provinces workshop. Her most recent book is Roman Imperialism and local identities published by Cambridge University Press.

Ellen Swift PhD (2013)

Dr Ellen Swift is Reader in Roman Archaeology at the University of Kent. Educated at University College London, she has wide research interests in artefact studies as well as the late and post-Roman transition in the West. She has also published on late Roman dress, and Roman and late antique art. She is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries. Her most recent book, 'Artefacts and Society: design, behaviour, and experience', was published by Oxford University Press in 2017. She is currently leading an AHRC funded research project on Roman and Late Antique Artefacts from Egypt.

Honorary Secretary

Richard Hobbs
Britain, Europe & Prehistory
The British Museum
London WC1B 3DG

telephone: 0207 323 8294
e-mail: rhobbs @


Mr. Duncan King, BA FCA ATII

Former Trustees

Mr. R. Birch
Prof. A.K. Bowman
Mr H. Orr-Ewing
Dr. C. Johns
Mr. Paul Booth
Prof. Amanda Claridge
Dr. Janet Delaine
Jenny Hall
Dr. Ralph Jackson
Mr. Peter Johnson
Prof. S. Keay
Prof. A.C.King
The Hon Mrs. Mary Ann Marten
Mr. R.Paling
Dr. J. Pearce
Dr. T.W.Potter
Miss J.M.Pye
Lord Rupert Redesdale
Prof. P. Salway
Sir John Sykes Bt
Prof. M.Todd
Dr. G.Webster